I want to go faster.

Moderators: robnewyork, bassiclyLouDog, gameboy

Hello,

I am a newbie to this forum, but I am a veteran of taking everything possible apart, and putting them all back together (hopefully with improvements aesthetically, or performance wise).

My son's 4th birthday, and I bought him a Razor Quad (version 19). His big sister passed down her pink barbie jeep, but I can't stand to see the poor kid cruise around the cul de sac anymore, riding that plastic contraption. I would love to buy him a little 50cc ride on, but wife wasn't having it, so I opted for the Razor Quad, and I have already disassembled it completely, and am in the process of converting to 36v. First, I have to replicate the Kawasaki KXF50, to make it look better than the Pink Barbie Jeep

My son's favorite color is green, so to make him even happier, I have totally stripped the quad plastic fairing, sanded, cleaned, degreased/stripped, washed....Then adhesive promoter, and a plastic primer......

20160222_225738.png
Stickers removed, stripped, sanded, wax and oil removal, dish soap, air blasted, adhesion promoter, plastic primer

After letting the primer dry, I rattlecanned some Grabber Green enamel with 2 light coats, and 1 medium coat. That is curing right now. Once it does, I will hit it with a few more thin coats to completely cover, let that cure, then hit the nose with some Black enamel for the contrast.....

20160224_182109.png
Grabber Green engine enamel, 2 thin coats with 10 minutes in between, and 1 medium coat...Needs a few more coats.

Also I have stripped, etched and primed, and enameled/clearcoated the stock wheels, for that KFX50 look...

20160224_182011.png
Stripped Razor Quad wheels, etched/primed them, and rattlecanned some Wheel enamel and Clearcoat..

Lastly, I have added 3" to the wheelbase, front and rear, to aid in the stability.