I want to go faster.

Moderators: robnewyork, bassiclyLouDog, gameboy

By jgh
Hello, I'm new to the forums but I've been reading through them for awhile. I have a basic understanding what I need but wanted to get some input before I made any purchases. I just purchased a used MX500 that doesn't run. I'm assuming it's the batteries. Should I upgrade to a 48 volt setup with 18ah? I'm looking at these lithium batteries but not sure if they are worth the investment. http://lunacycle.com/batteries/packs/. I was looking at the 52 volt options they had. Any suggestions? Next, I have no welding experience so I was thinking about a 750 watt motor, If I go with the 48 or 52 volt setup should I buy the 36 volt, 750 watt motor? Do you guys recommend the the 60 volt yk43b? I'm looking for something quick off the line with nice top end speed. I have read that a couple people purchased the 100 tooth rear sprocket from rebel gears. Should I stay with the stock or will this be a nice upgrade. Any other suggestions would appreciated, thanks for your help.
By robnewyork
those batteries have a low amperage BMS so basically the balancing board limits the output, thats fine but if u ever upgrade it will blow the board.
the Yk43b will likely blow any unite motor you buy but welding isnt required to mount a bigger one..
The 750watt or 800watt unite motor is a good option but the stock 500watt will allow you to do most anything u can do with the 750.
You say u want good pickup from roughly 0-20, if u weigh 140 that means one thing 200 that means another.
Bang for the buck ur right , 18ah is the cheapest biggest battery available.I would get 4 of these , u can use them if u decide to go faster
http://www.ebay.com/itm/12V-18Ah-CB19-1 ... YHmkKtGL8A
While ur at it id get a charger to charge this pack which u can also use if/when u upgrade
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Electric-Scoote ... Swx~JWFKqK